Kenya names squad for Deaflympics

Kenya names squad for Deaflympics

Deaf Athletics Association of Kenya (DAAK) on Wednesday named their athletes set to participate in the delayed 2021 Summer Deaflympics in Caxias do Sul in Brazil.

DAAK listed 44 athletes who qualified for the global event scheduled to run from May 1 to 15 following the conclusion of the two-day trials at Nyayo National Stadium.

The Kenya team will be headlined by the Wamira sprinting siblings – David, Beryl and Rael ahead of the team camp set for March 26.

World junior 200meters Deaf Athletics champion Kenya’s Beryl Wamira after leading in the 100 meters during the opening of the 1st Africa Deaf Athletics Championship Games at Kasarani stadium on Tuesday, September 17, 2019. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Beryl Wamira booked a spot in the women’s 100m after finishing first clocking 12.1 seconds followed by her sister Rael booked a ticket to Brazil by virtue of finishing second clocking 12.6 seconds.

Beryl will also compete in the 200m after clocking 26.2 seconds to finish first ahead of linet Nanjala who ran 27.2 seconds.

In the men’s 100m final, David romped home in 10.7 seconds to emerge top ahead of Isaac Atima came second in 11.0, while Simon Menza settled for third in 11.2.

David also crossed the finish line first in the men’s 200m in 21.7.

Others who booked a ticket to Brazil in the race are Walter Malenje and Elijah Wekesa, who timed 22.1 and 22.4 respectively.

Other athletes who have qualified include Simon Menza, Aida Odera, Alice Otieno, Amos Kilangat, Ann Wangeci, Anzazi Chaka among others.

Team Kenya for the 2021 Deaflympics in Brazil

Aida Odera, Alice Otieno, Amos Kilangat, Ann Wangeci, Anzazi Chaka, Beryl Wamira, Brian Kiptoo, Charles Muthama, Daniel Kiptum, David Kipkogei, David Wamira, Denis Kiprop, Edwin Terer, Elijah Wekesa, Elisha Osuma, Elkana Kiprop, George Waweru, Grancy Kendagor, Ian Kahiga, Isaac Atima, Jackb Kibet, John Koech, Kelvin Kipkoge, Kokobi Omari, Linet Nanjala, Lucas Wandia, Nicholus Achieng, Pamela Atieno, Paul Simiyu, Peter Toroitich, Rael Wamira, Rebecca Matiko, Sarah Wangare, Sharon Bitok, Symon Kibai, Simon Menza, Walter Malenje, Winnie Barasa, Sarah Wasike, Dickoson Juma, Stephen Okoth, Hillary Chirchir, Ruth Chemurgor, Dorothy Wairimu

Source: Standard Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *